This website will be updated stepwise, after some time of interruption.

The Institute for Forest Utilization and Work Science was founded in 1958 and existed till end of 2012. The Chair for Forest Work Science was established in 1981 (Prof. Gero Becker). Prof. Dr. Siegfried Lewark followed him in 1990, retired in 2010. The denomination of the chair was then changed to Forest Operations (Prof. Dr. Dirk Jaeger, from 2019 Prof. Dr. Thomas Purfürst).

More information about the history of the  Institute for Forest Utilization and Work Science are found under this link  (in German).

The Faculty for Environment and Natural Resources (Fakultät für Umwelt und Natürliche Ressourcen) changed its structure in 2013. In the course of this structural reform, the Institute for Forest Utilization and Forest Work Science was divided into individual professorships on 1 January 2013, which continue and expand the scope of research and teaching. Professor Lewark continues to publish in the fields of Forest Work Science, gender and forestry and higher forest education.


The chairs in 2022:

Forest Utilization
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Gero Becker (retired)

Forest Operations
Prof. Dr. Thomas Purfürst

Forest Biomaterials 

Prof. Marie-Pierre Laborie, Ph.D.

Forest Work Science
Prof. Dr. Siegfried Lewark (retired)


Benutzerspezifische Werkzeuge